Buy Unlimited Training licenses in June and get an extra 3 months for free! ☀️

How To Pass The ISACA CRISC Certification (Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control)

Practitioners in IT risk management (ITRM) who develop, implement, and maintain proper information system (IS) controls and those who seek to mitigate threats through the application of sound governance principles may consider earning the CRISC designation. Their main goal is to improve their skills and knowledge in assessing and prioritizing risks in real-world IT/IS environments by doing IT/IS audits.

The correct experts must be hired to help detect and reduce this risk. Fortunately, the Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA) has produced the CRISC certification program to authenticate the knowledge and skills of subject matter experts in response to the demand from businesses. Information system and technology risk analysts and managers can get the ISACA credential by passing the organization's rigorous certification process.

What's the Big Deal about CRISC?

The development of cybercrimes, particularly in terms of data theft and fraud, has made risk management a major issue. Cybersecurity has risen to the top of the priority list for businesses and individuals alike as more of our personal and professional lives move online. An organization could face financial ruin or possibly closure if it suffers a large data breach. The reputation of an untrustworthy and unsafe firm can be irreparable if it is unable to keep its transactions secure.

Information technology risks are better understood by professionals who have completed CRISC certification. In addition, they design plans and methods for minimizing the risks. Finally, CRISC professionals create a common language for IT groups and stakeholders to communicate better and understand each other.

How Do You Get CRISC Certification?

You may be asking how to obtain ISACA CRISC certification eligibility with all of the advantages. To become certified in risk and information system control, you must complete the following steps:

Get a passing score on the CRISC exam

To become a CRISC professional, you must have three years of work experience in at least two of the four CRISC areas, including IT risk management and information systems control. Domain 1 or 2 must be one of the two required domains. Keep in mind that there are no exemptions or substitutes for prior experience. You have to put in the time and effort! Your employers must independently verify all of your work experience.

Complete and submit a CRISC Application for Certification

The job experience must have taken place within the ten years before the certification application date or within five years of the date that you successfully passed the certification examination.

Maintain professional and personal standards by adhering to the Code of Professional Ethics. Not divulging anything learned while doing your job unless it is mandated by law is part of this rule. The member must carry out their obligations in accordance with best practices and professional standards and must do so with utmost care and attention. Finally, they must always retain a high level of morality, ethics, and integrity.

Adhere to the CPE Policy, which mandates a minimum of 20 contact hours of CPE per year, plus maintenance fees. CPE During three years certified CRISX professionals must complete at least 120 mandatory contact hours.

How to register and schedule the CRISC exam

The CRISC exam is available year-round as a computer-based testing (CBT) session at a PSI exam center or online. First, all applicants must register online directly with ISACA, and then they will receive email instructions on how to book an exam time.

Continuing Professional Education (CPE)

Qualified CRISC professionals are protected by Continuing Professional Education (CPE) policy. Keeping all CRISCs up-to-date on the latest information systems audit, control, and security techniques is the purpose of this policy. Compliance with the "continuous professional education policy" will allow CRISCs to examine information systems and technology more effectively and provide their employers with leadership and value. The CRISC Certification Board is in charge of establishing the requirements for continuing professional education and ensuring that they are appropriate for all CRISC professionals.

A minimum of 20 hours of continuing education (CPE) is required each year in order to maintain certification. There must also be a minimum of 120 contact hours over a three-year time frame.

Please visit the ISACA website's Maintain CRISC Certification page for more information.

Preparing for the exam

Candidates will be notified via email once their registration is complete and they are eligible to continue. To register, go through the processes outlined below:

  • Visit the ISACA website and log in.
  • Go to the "myCertification" section of the website.
  • Go to the Pre-Certification Summary area and click on the Schedule Exam URL to schedule an exam. Here, you'll find the scheduling page.
  • To make an appointment for a screening, simply follow the on-screen instructions. This Candidate's Guide may be of assistance to would-be aspirants.
  • Candidate's Guide includes exam registration, exam dates and deadlines, exam day guidelines, and more.

The Scheduling Guide, which explains how to set up testing appointments for registered CRISC candidates, has a wealth of useful information and instructions.

Candidates can also use ISACA's CRISC Exam Study Community to share experiences, ideas, questions, and study materials with each other.

Or, if you have no time to waste, you may want to consider the 3 day instructor-led CRISC Certification:

Taking the exam

The CRISC exam consists of 150 questions that must be completed in four hours. Scaled scores are used to report the results of a candidate's evaluation. A candidate's raw exam score is converted to a standard scale to arrive at a scaled score. Use and reporting of ISACA scores are based on a standard 200-800 scale.

Candidates must achieve at least 450 to pass the exam. The CRISC Certification Committee of ISACA has defined a minimal criterion of knowledge of 450 points.

Application for certification is open to those who pass the exam.


As a CRISC-certified professional, your ability to deliver value and insight from an overall corporate perspective on both IT risk and control will be recognized and valued.

The CRISC framework focuses on managing and mitigating risk across business processes and technology as one of its key domains.


Two people monitoring systems for security breaches

Unlimited Security Training

Get Unlimited access to ALL the LIVE Instructor-led Security courses you want - all for the price of less than one course. 

  • 60+ LIVE Instructor-led courses
  • Money-back Guarantee
  • Access to 50+ seasoned instructors
  • Trained 50,000+ IT Pro's

Explore the latest Skills-First Economy Insights

Discover the science and thoughts of leaders in the Skills-First Economy. Fill in your email to subscribe to monthly updates.


Through years of experience working with more than 1000 top companies in the world, we ́ve architected the Readynez method for learning. Choose IT courses and certifications in any technology using the award-winning Readynez method and combine any variation of learning style, technology and place, to take learning ambitions from intent to impact.



Price: {{item.ItemPriceExVatFormatted}} {{item.Currency}}